Author Topic: Magic words  (Read 3035 times)

PonoBill

• Cortez Bank Status
    • View Profile
Magic words
« on: February 07, 2010, 03:23:56 PM »
I never have the proper comeback to a slight--I'm a writer, not an orator. I usually think of the right thing to say about fifteen minutes too late. But yesterday I had one of those rare moments when the right words came. I tried to relate it to Randy in the lineup this morning, and didn't get it right!! I'm sure he thought "big deal".

I was in Kahalui Harbor. My plan was to paddle out to Pier One, but when I got to the mouth of the harbor the wind was right in my face. I saw a few SUP guys out there, but the waves didn't look great, and the prospect of a half mile paddle into 15 knot winds was too daunting. So I went back in to play in the little harbor waves. When I got to the middle lineup a guy on a longboard said "hey, no f***in stand up pukes here". Normally I'd either ignore him or say something lame, but a little red puff went off in my brain and I laid into him.

I said:
You know, I never get any grief from good surfers, or Hawaiians, or people in challenging waves. It's just you old haole guys that are mediocre surfers, wobbling around in little baby surf, with what's left of your hair in a ponytail that I hear anything from. Any real waterman is willing to try anything, and any real surfer doesn't care how someone else dresses, or what they think, or what board they choose to ride. It's just you grumpy old farts that are afraid to look like a kook on something new that want to tell other people what they can and can't do.

He said:
I don't care what you do, but those boards are dangerous. You should learn to surf first. You guys don't respect the lineup and the culture.

I said:
Are you shitting me, this board is six inches longer than yours. You're on a epoxy popup built from windsurf technology. I don't see you on a sixteen foot koa plank, as if you could actually surf one.