Author Topic: Yet another (racing) paddle length question...  (Read 5553 times)

ODJ

• Peahi Status
    • View Profile
    • Email
Yet another (racing) paddle length question...
« on: January 08, 2012, 06:58:14 AM »
I have been riding an SUP in the surf for the last 2 years, and have my paddle length for that dialed. I am 6'2, and seemed to have found the sweet spot for my Methane at between 79-80 inches, so this isn't an issue. but...

I am having trouble figuring out where to start with my race paddle. I am new to race/open-ocean paddling, Recently picked up a Ke'Nalu paddle, and luckily I have the adjustable Ergo-T handle, so i have a pretty large window here for adjustability (Great, design, Bill!).

The Problem is, from what I have read most recommend an average length for a racing paddle to be around 12 inches overhead, but then if you read other literature, and watch videos (in particular this one from Dave Kalama) He mentions that the ideal length is 8-12 inches overhead, possibly an added 2 inches for racing due to the thickness of the board...but 12 inches over my head is 86 inches, but if i add an extra 2 inches overhead that's 88 inches, but if i use the 'reach up and rest your hand over the top of the paddle it ends up being 90 inches...to confuse things even more my board has a 2.5 inch sunken deck on it...and routinely get left shoulder pain with longer paddles, but also have back issues (double discectomy and double hemilaminectony 3 years ago and i am only 35 years old).

maybe it's just a process or trial and error and taking the hairdryer with me to the harbor and dialing in the paddle. While I was waiting for the Ke Nalu to arrive I went out on the board once with my surf paddle and it just sucked donkey balls. Obviously it was waaay to short and put strain on my back.

PonoBill

• Cortez Bank Status
    • View Profile
Re: Yet another (racing) paddle length question...
« Reply #1 on: January 08, 2012, 07:50:56 AM »