Author Topic: Exocet WindSUP  (Read 9319 times)

Great Gazoo

• Waikiki Status
    • View Profile
Exocet WindSUP
« on: August 17, 2012, 11:21:48 AM »
I am going to purchase the Exocet WindSUP 11'8 or the 10'0.  Not sure which size would be the best fit?

I am new to SUP, but I have been windsurfing for a few seasons and can waterstart, plane in the straps and harness and carve gybe 50% of the time along with doing non-planning gybes.  

Here are the details about me and the way I want to use the board and maybe you can help with some input about board size:

I weigh between 75-80kg (165-175lbs)
I am 5'8
I paddle and sail on an inland lake.
The wind is between 10knots-18knots
I will paddle on calm water and sometimes there will be white caps for paddling (but at this time I will be sailing most likely)
I will be paddline with a dog who weighs 45lbs

I am thinking I will use the board 50% of the time for padding and 50% for windsurfing.
Some of the times I will want to bring my dog on the board when I am paddling and he weighs about 45 lbs

Do you think a 10'0 Exocet WIndSUP board is stable enough to carry a 45lb dog with me while paddling?

I have sold my windsurf board in order to get the SUP board so I am looking for a fairly good windsurfing board along with a good paddle board.  I am thinking the 10 would be better windsurf board, but the 11'8 would be the better paddle board.

Any ideas would be appreciated!

wilanz

• Rincon Status
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: Exocet WindSUP
« Reply #1 on: August 17, 2012, 12:48:19 PM »
Here are some pics of both from a recent Demo.  I'm 5'6 - 175lbs.  SUPsurfing for 2 years, windsurfing for 1 year mostly SUPs.

http://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set=a.10151317691012538.564641.644662537&type=3&l=30e09d5df8

11'8 Sails like a dream.  Very easy to SUP also.  A little big for me to turn on the waves but not any harder than a SUP that size.