Author Topic: Etiquette  (Read 9365 times)

reefrash

• Waikiki Status
    • View Profile
    • Email
Etiquette
« on: July 14, 2007, 06:59:40 PM »
Stand Up Paddling is a fantastic sport. Whether it is going down wind or surfing waves, I have had some unbelievable experiences over the last few years. As the sport has grown, I have seen tension towards stand up paddlers increase. A few stand up paddlers who are ignorant or have bad intentions can ruin the experience both paddlers and surfers. As the line ups are going to get only more crowded, I think it is critical that SUPs both new and old practice good etiquette in the line up. One of the best write ups on SUP etiqutte is on the Stand Up Paddle Hawaii website. This is a must read particularly for those getting into the sport.

http://www.paddlesurfhawaii.com/default.asp?doctype=mm&C_ID=129

A few other thoughts on etiquette that aren't mentioned.  Keep an eye on the number of SUPs at any one break. While you may individually practice good etiquette, collectively a group of SUPs can dominate the lineup. Let waves through for other surf riders.  One of the best parts of stand up paddle surfing is the mobility and paddling power. Take the extra five minutes of paddling to go to a wave up the coast that is empty. Marginal waves on a short board or even on some long boards can be fun on SUP.

Christian70000

• Waikiki Status
    • View Profile
Re: Etiquette
« Reply #1 on: July 17, 2007, 04:36:22 PM »
Great article.  thx ;D

RUSS-D

• Rincon Status
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: July 18, 2007, 03:07:30 AM »
Christian, you made it over here compadre, that's awesome.

jayr

• Waikiki Status
    • View Profile
    • Email
« Reply #3 on: October 09, 2007, 11:14:25 PM »
Good read reefrash...thanks for the article... RUSS-D, I like the quote on your signature...truly a surfers mantra.

Allan Cheateaux

• Sunset Status
  • Enhance you open ocean existence!
    • Yahoo Instant Messenger - allancheateaux@yahoo.com