Author Topic: Newbie  (Read 7025 times)

BrittanysDad

• Rincon Status
  • Goodbye, Sunshine. Daddy misses you.
    • Yahoo Instant Messenger - katzkillz
    • View Profile
    • Email
« on: January 21, 2010, 07:34:29 PM »
Hi. I'm new to the forums.  Been interested in SUP for a while now.  Been surfing longboards for about a year.

I was trying to get some information about SUP and found this site, so, I figured I would ask here.

I'm about 6' and about 250 (though, I'm in the process of losing weight, about 30 pounds in the last few months) and will probably get as low as about 220, but not much lower.

I'm curious as to what dimensions I should be looking for in an SUP for a beginner.  Thanks.

Jes

stoneaxe

• Cortez Bank Status
    • View Profile
    • Cape Cod Bay Challenge
Re: Newbie
« Reply #1 on: January 21, 2010, 09:22:52 PM »
I'm an expert on beginner big guys... ;D. I have a few inches and lbs on you.
If your balance is good you could go as short as 10-6 but I wouldn't go any narrower than 30" I started on a Starboard 12-6 x 30 Cruiser, great beginners board and I still use it fairly frequently. It or something like it will make learning much more enjoyable. Take a look at the ke nalu board showcase. You'll get an idea of the size of boards that similar folks liked. its a bit out of date as far as board selection goes but a good 1st look at sizes.

http://www.kenalu.com/forums/showcase-index/

It hurts to read your tagline. Sorry for your loss. Can't imagine the pain.
Bob

8-4 Vec, 9-0 SouthCounty, 9-8 Starboard, 10-4 Foote Triton, 10-6 C4, 12-6 Starboard, 14-0 Vec (babysitting the 18-0 Speedboard) Ke Nalu Molokai, Ke Nalu Maliko, Ke Nalu Wiki Ke Nalu Konihi

NXLVL

• Sunset Status
    • View Profile
    • Email
« Reply #2 on: January 21, 2010, 10:11:06 PM »