Author Topic: Affording the Sport  (Read 6094 times)

Honolii

• Rincon Status
    • View Profile
Affording the Sport
« on: November 18, 2007, 11:39:39 AM »
Howzit all.
Seeing as there are quite a few regulars on here and growing, I'm wondering what you all do to afford the sport?  Some of you have the luxury of being able to afford multiple boards at a drop of a dime, which is cool as you folks give a lot of feedback as to what works and what doesn't.
Some, like me, save up to get a board, hoping that it is a board that works for themselves.
I'm currently a SPED teacher in a public school on the Big Island.  The job affords me breaks between quarters (fall, winter, spring, and summer)  that I can take advantage of to surf other places. I also enjoy working with behavioral challenged students.
Prior to this I was a graphic designer in Los Angeles but got tired dealing with everyday city drag (traffic, paying for parking, wetsuits, crowds, etc. ) in order to sustain my ocean Lifestyle. After 15 years of living on the mainland, I am happy to be back home and just loving my whole environment here.

patfly

• Rincon Status
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: Affording the Sport
« Reply #1 on: November 18, 2007, 01:47:26 PM »
I am on a fixed income (feels more like it is broken, but they call it fixed  ::)).
I just retired and my 1st social security retirement check to buy my first SUP.

paddlesurf.net

• Peahi Status
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: November 18, 2007, 02:40:37 PM »
I run a really lucrative blog. I just checked my google adsense account on it and I'm killing it: I'm averaging 32 cents a day! That's keeping me in stand up boards, paddles and fins. If I crack a dollar a day- that's it... beers on me.

Princess

• Rincon Status
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: November 18, 2007, 02:52:20 PM »
I am also a teacher. I am currently tutoring on the side to save extra money for my first board (I currently rent). It is expensive but so many of the fun sports are!