Author Topic: SUP Foil Surfing Oregon?  (Read 3489 times)

B-Walnut

• Rincon Status
    • View Profile
SUP Foil Surfing Oregon?
« on: August 14, 2021, 07:53:55 AM »
I've been kiting for the last 4-5 years pretty heavily, strapless only, and SUP surfing the last 2 years. While I have zero interest in kite foiling, the SUP foiling looks amazing to me. Both in the gorge and out at the coast. That being said... I've never seen a single foiler at the Oregon coast without a kite and last week I saw the first with a wing. Maybe I don't fully understand what kind of swell is needed for SUP foiling, but I've been told by a few foilers that the swell is too weak at the Oregon coast to really get up and moving unless it's pretty decent sized surf (head high). Normally I would assume this is someone who just hasn't put the time in but they are actually a really accomplished SUP foiler who lives in the gorge.

Is anyone SUP foil surfing in Oregon? Is it really a no-go?

If I do jump in, is it realistic to get a board and foil that work for downwind swell riding in the gorge as well as catching waves at the coast?

Thanks!

red_tx

• Rincon Status
    • View Profile
Re: SUP Foil Surfing Oregon?
« Reply #1 on: August 14, 2021, 08:27:52 AM »
B-Walnut.
I have been foil surfing(SUP) for the last 3 years on the Oregon coast.
Its amazing. Your friend is lying to you or is unaware. :)

I have foiled wave sizes from over head(scary as hell), to ankle height. Most of the time its Chest high and lower where I go.

Yes you can get a DW / Foil SUP board.

For example, my first foil SUP is a starboard 7'4 hypernut. It will do foil SUP. Downwind, and winging.

Bring it dude.
-red

Hwy1north

• Waikiki Status
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: August 14, 2021, 10:27:42 AM »