Author Topic: Advice needed  (Read 5122 times)

SurfIC

• Waikiki Status
    • View Profile
Advice needed
« on: April 27, 2021, 02:42:35 PM »
I've been Wingsurfing for the past 8 months almost every other day. I'm really comfortable on foil! I have 2 mid aspect foils 1450 (90% of the time) and 2000 (light wind). I surfed a little bit when I was younger and have sup surfer for the last 6 years. I want to Surf foil on my wing board which is 5'2 26" 85L. I'm 77kgs, if I got into it I would buy a smaller lower litre prone foil board which could also work as a sinker for wingsurfing. I don't want to sup foil as I like the smaller board and want smaller than my current board not bigger.. Lol.

When learning to pop up and foil surf in small waves.. 
1) do I use my big or small foil?
2) The pop up looks slightly slower and less critical than non foil surf. Any hints?
3) do you keep your feet through the centre line? When Winging my front foot is slightly offset.
4) my plan is to try and find a reform wave and take off on the white water, is this what you would suggest?
5) does a smaller sinker board take off as easy/more easy/less easy than my floaty wing board? A sinker won't have glide but it may get picked up and pushed more in white water?

Any general other tips would be awesome..
Thanks
78kgs
Board- Naish 4'10 60L
Foils - Gong Curve H, L and M
Wing 4m and 5m Airush
*Prone surf - Flying Fish 4'6 35L

jondrums

• Peahi Status
    • View Profile
Re: Advice needed
« Reply #1 on: April 27, 2021, 03:17:25 PM »
A nice big board will work great as long as it isn't big surf that you have to paddle out through.

1) I'd personally start with your small foil, you want minimal lift as you're learning to catch waves, otherwise it'll buck you off the back as you try to stand up.  Put it back in the boxes as well while learning