Author Topic: Apple iWatch with Dawn Patrol SURF TRACKING  (Read 20807 times)

Beasho

• Cortez Bank Status
    • View Profile
Apple iWatch with Dawn Patrol SURF TRACKING
« on: September 22, 2020, 05:59:11 PM »
I have been using the iWatch to track surf sessions for more than 2 years. 

IT IS PHENOMENAL.  I am surprised it doesn't get more chatter on the Zone or elsewhere. 

My wife bought me the apple watch for father's day 2018 version 3.  I was so against Apple products I almost sent it back.

The "Dawn Patrol" app added to the watch is stunning.  I have motivated 1 friend on the East Coast, Paul Murray, to buy one and then all my surf amigo's in California from Jeff Clark to Haley Fiske and Dave Westendorf. . . .

We now trade sessions and have learned to read how good the (foil) session was by length of ride, speed and curvy-ness aka how much we were turning. 

For example here was my hero wave this summer.  East Coast in New England.  Rhode Island on a foil and a 470 yard ride, 1 minute 10 seconds.  Unheard of. 

« Last Edit: September 22, 2020, 06:23:06 PM by Beasho »

Beasho

• Cortez Bank Status
    • View Profile
Re: Apple iWatch with Dawn Patrol
« Reply #1 on: September 22, 2020, 06:07:17 PM »
Here is an example of my surf Amigo Mark.  He goes out foiling at our local spot in California and sends this report:  71 waves.  Prone Foiling . . . . 4 hours . .  Loop-d-Loop . . . Mark is in good shape. 

Holy Schnockers!!!! 
« Last Edit: September 22, 2020, 06:43:27 PM by Beasho »

Beasho

• Cortez Bank Status
    • View Profile
Re: Apple iWatch with Dawn Patrol
« Reply #2 on: September 22, 2020, 06:11:59 PM »
The TideChart view is so good I threw away my RipCurl TideWatch.  I was going to get the battery replaced and just hucked the $300 RipCurl in the trash.

TideChart costs $5.  Looks like this on the watch face.  Totally gorgeous.