Author Topic: What size board for jumping  (Read 3897 times)

WingSurfPeterT

• Waikiki Status
    • View Profile
    • Email
What size board for jumping
« on: July 27, 2021, 04:39:34 AM »
Starting to get a bit more into jumping and my +10 L (107 L FSM for a 220lb rider) feels big in the air, but will still be the board I need to ride 80% of the time in the summer as our wind dies sometimes and need to schlog in. Reminds me a of jumping oversized windsurfing boards back in the day

For jumping on windy days what is a good size that is still relatively easy to get going, but a little more controllable in the air, -10 L, -20 L, -30L ? or all the way down to prone foil surf boards in the 50-60 L range

VB_Foil

• Sunset Status
    • View Profile
    • @foilgraham Insta
    • Email
Re: What size board for jumping
« Reply #1 on: July 27, 2021, 06:39:32 AM »
I'm no air expert, but my 60L (-5L) felt great in the air last session.  First time jumping it.  Had jumped my +15L FSM a few times prior, and that felt pretty good as well, just couldn't get my straps set up how I wanted, so didn't pursue jumping much. 

The -5L at 4'11" still had some surface area for a good bounce off the water if not staying on foil through the landing. 

I've heard feedback from pro riders that if you go too short or small on a prone board, like a 4' size, it can be overly easy to stuff the nose on a landing.  So I think you need to find a balance in that 4'3" to 5' size and find a good volume for your weight depending on the wind strength and start style preference. 

I'm going to be trying a 4' 27L board here soon.  We'll see if that is too short. 
I’m a 5’9” 65kg rider:

Boards:
   4' 27L Armstrong FG Wing/Surf
   4’5” 34L Armstrong FG Wing/Surf
   4'11" 60L Armstrong Wing/Sup

Foils: Armstrong HA525, HS625, HA725, HA925, HS1050, HA1125, HS1250, HA1325
Wings: BRM 2M & 3M, FreeWing Nitro 4M, OR 5M & 7M Glide

flkiter

• Sunset Status
    • View Profile
    • Email