Author Topic: Starboard Pro vs. Infinity Blurr v2, thoughts?  (Read 8510 times)

surfafrica

• Peahi Status
    • View Profile
    • YouTube
Re: Starboard Pro vs. Infinity Blurr v2, thoughts?
« Reply #15 on: April 14, 2024, 08:49:33 AM »
I always put together these to-scale nerdy images when I'm looking at boards. After more thought, the B-Line is more similar in outline and rocker to my Kronos than the Blurr, so it might make sense to try out a Blurr for some differentiation. Hopefully I can get a demo on one.
50 years old, 5'7", 150 lbs, intermediate
Infinity RNB: 7'6 x 28, 95 L https://goo.gl/SqlWR4
Kronos LB: 8'10 x 26.5, 84 L https://goo.gl/4iQdps
Kronos Nano: 7'4 x 26, 81 L https://goo.gl/kAM8W6

SurfKiteSUP

• Waikiki Status
    • View Profile
« Reply #16 on: Today at 10:21:26 AM »
About 20 sessions on my BlurrV2 now.

Granted, I'm no expert SUSer and this is only my second board but this board rocks!

Relative to my Wedge, stability is still a bit of an issue - I fall a few times a session even in clean conditions especially towards the end of a session.  There are some waves I miss or can't aggressively paddle out to because I'm slightly off-balance.  That being said, I've been out still catching waves after 2.5 hours so it's not awful.

However, once on a wave, the Blurr is leaps and bounds better than the Wedge as should be expected.  On steep drops with the Wedge, the toes on my back foot were practically dragging in the water to get the rail to bite.  I had a hard time getting the confidence to feel the rail was set on fast(er) bottom turns.  On the Blurr, I don't have an exaggerated foot placement and my feet reman on the stepped portion of the deck.  Bottom turns are much easier to initiate and, as I mentioned in my earlier post, for some reason it is much easier to get my back foot on the tailpad with out feeling like I'm going to wheelie so that helps.  Everything about the Blurr is just that much more reactive/quicker.