Author Topic: Stability Fin Advice  (Read 2678 times)

Kjfsurfcycle

• Waikiki Status
    • View Profile
Stability Fin Advice
« on: July 16, 2020, 11:04:22 AM »
I am wishing to increase primary stability on my 2017 Carbon Allstar Starboard 14 x 24.5. I paddle on a large alpine lake that is frequently sloppy with boat wakes from multiple angles or wind chop up to 1 foot.  I paddle at all angles including cross chop.  I also own a 14’ Bark and SIC FX 14 x 24.5 with stock finds so I have some relative experience.   I have tried a small Starboard fin and a Makani Roto.  The Makani Roto was a huge improvement over the small Starboard fin.  Does anyone have any recommendations for a fin with more stability?   Does anyone have feedback on the Blackproject Ray or the VMG Maka 44?  FYI I have read that a 2017 Allstar has a short fin box and won’t work with a fin like a Gladiator.  Thanks Kevin

Area 10

• Cortez Bank Status
    • View Profile
Re: Stability Fin Advice
« Reply #1 on: July 16, 2020, 06:43:55 PM »
If you want a fin that adds stability, look for one that has plenty of area towards the tip of the fin, and is as deep as you dare.  Its not just a case of the total area of the fin, but also where that area is deployed. If your Starboard has one of their silly small finboxes then you arent going to find many options.

puget sound

• Malibu Status
    • View Profile
    • Email
« Reply #2 on: July 17, 2020, 08:48:55 AM »
The Larry Allison dolphin keel is massive and stable, without as large of a base as you'd expect. It might fit your board.
Starboard Sprint 21.5 / SIC RS 14x23 / SIC Bullet V1

SouthCounty

• Rincon Status
    • View Profile
    • Email
« Reply #3 on: July 17, 2020, 05:45:07 PM »
Give Chris a call at Black Project, tell him what you have and how you use your board, he has the best customer service out of any of these other fin makers. I have a Ray for my board but just switched to a Maliko since my 27' wide blackfish is stable enough