Author Topic: Largest foil board sup for large beginner  (Read 7951 times)

bstein

• Waikiki Status
    • View Profile
Largest foil board sup for large beginner
« on: November 25, 2019, 04:30:18 PM »
Hi,
I am looking for a foil SUP to go with a duotone 5m foil wing and an 84cm sling wing foil I bought. I am 6'2', 205 pounds. I have no foiling experience, just 10 years of SUP experience. I would like to start with wingfoiling before venturing into the surf.

After speaking to a few knowledgable people about foiling, it sounds like I should buy a longer (7'6"+) and higher volume (160+) board to shorten the learning curve. Besides the Jimmy Lewis Flying V (7'11" 180L), what other boards fit this spec and have a plate mount for the foil?

Dwight (DW)

• Cortez Bank Status
    • View Profile
    • supSURFmachines
Re: Largest foil board sup for large beginner
« Reply #1 on: November 25, 2019, 04:47:27 PM »
You have conflicting issues. The easiest winging board, is the shortest board. It will pump onto foil way easier, and be a lot more fun winging.

Paddling into a wave, and getting on foil is a different ball game. A short SUP will require board pumping skills while paddling. So longer SUPs are easier when you lack this skill.

supkailua

• Rincon Status
    • View Profile
    • Email
« Reply #2 on: November 25, 2019, 05:11:46 PM »
Blueplanet has this big one https://www.blueplanetsurf.com/blue-planet-80-x-31-easy-foiler-2018.html.

They also have a bigger one but you have to ask if that has a track for the plate mount.

Also the Slingshot mast easily adapts to a tuttle box. I just broke my board, switched my foil to a tuttle mount to use a temporary board, and I am now back to a plate mount, and it was easy, just two screws.