Author Topic: Flailing on the F one 5m  (Read 12364 times)

toejammer2

• Malibu Status
    • View Profile
Flailing on the F one 5m
« on: November 01, 2019, 09:15:47 PM »
Scored a 5m a week ago from Murray’s sports in So Cal . I’ve got the Gong 7m and got one good sesh at Floras Lake Oregon. I surf switch foot Sup surfing on sectiony righthanders and was feeling feel pretty confident pointing back to my launch spot in that stance.  After all, I’ve been surfing since 1972, windsurfing since ‘97  achieving the ability to wave sail the medium sized days at Pistol River, Oregon and have been sup surfing since 2006, foiling since the Gofoil Kai was offered as a pre order by Starboard (remember the video with the Twentyone pilots song?). The problem is I stupidly ignored the fact  that over confidence in the water is one’s worst enemy-really? After all these years? A late season high pressure hit Northern California(wildfire weather) and Big Lagoon in Humboldt County was forecasted to have gusts over 30. Since I have windsurfed overpowered there quite a few times (and was proud of it) I thought winging it would be fine-I’ll just go out half way into the very large lagoon-hence the name “Big Lagoon” on my clunky super heavy  8’ 130l hypernut with a Kai foil and just practice Gybes. After about 3 hours of doing the walk of shame I walked my gear as high up into the wind line as possible and took off pointing way higher than any of  the windsurfers getting brutalized on their 3.5s. My friend John Miller later told me people on the beach were saying “look at him go!”. About half way across the lagoon I thought-wow I did it! I’m just going to keep going all the way past where the windsurfers Gybe. But by the time I was ready to attempt a Gybe my upper thighs were literally burning. I had just rode the “endless wave”That was the moment I realized that winging it is not like windsurfing. You are not hooked in. You can’t just lean back hard and take the monster gusts when you are