Author Topic: Electric Bike with SUP trailer  (Read 1769 times)

sideshore

• Rincon Status
    • View Profile
    • Email
Electric Bike with SUP trailer
« on: July 02, 2019, 08:13:04 AM »
I'm seeing a few fat tire electric bikes cruising the beaches here in Southern NJ. With the Army Corps of Engineers having just completed a beach widening and dune project here, the hike to the waters edge with a SUP hasn't gotten any easier for this mid-60's paddler. Wondering if anyone has an electric bike set up with SUP trailer? If so, what does your rig look like. Which bike and trailer? Photos would be great! Thanks!

Beasho

• Cortez Bank Status
    • View Profile
Re: Electric Bike with SUP trailer
« Reply #1 on: July 02, 2019, 08:38:11 AM »
I recommend side-car mounted Surf-Board rack.

I have been using this design for 15 years now.  NO Problems  :o (rather I worked out numerous problems many 1,000's of miles ago.)

The trailers are cumbersome, elongated and add complexity to the overall rig in the form of tires and flat mounting surfaces.  If you get an electric bike, especially one with fat tires, you can take advantage of the suspension (ideally front shock) of the softer fat tires to carry you and your gear.   

The bicycle is optimally designed to handle the entire rig.  You can make this design for << $75 and it WILL OUTCARRY anything you can buy because of the suspension lines in the design.  I put my kid on this rack. 

With enough power and fat enough tires you can ride on soft sand with a big board.  I regularly carry my 12' SUP @ 30 lbs and my foil board on this rig.

See link here.
https://www.standupzone.com/forum/index.php/topic,13907.msg280983.html#msg280983
« Last Edit: July 02, 2019, 08:40:36 AM by Beasho »

PonoBill

• Cortez Bank Status
    • View Profile
Re: Electric Bike with SUP trailer
« Reply #2 on: July 02, 2019, 12:24:22 PM »