Author Topic: How much carbon needs to wrap around the leading edge of mast?  (Read 14969 times)

opie

• Rincon Status
    • View Profile
    • Email
How much carbon needs to wrap around the leading edge of mast?
« on: January 18, 2018, 02:49:32 PM »
I am ordering some 400 g biax and 200 g uni for the mast and fuselage which I will make as one piece with a wood core.  Does the carbon that wraps around the leading edge of the mast add strength, or is it just to smooth it out?  How much of my carbon needs to wrap around?  Will the 400g/12 oz biax bend around, or should I add some thinner stuff to my order?
Maybe I should mention I have no experience so any help is appreciated.  My Fusion 360 skills are coming along so I think its time for me  :)to learn to work with composites.
Thanks.

surfcowboy

• Cortez Bank Status
    • View Profile
Re: How much carbon needs to wrap around the leading edge of mast?
« Reply #1 on: January 18, 2018, 07:43:33 PM »
Good timing, I'm about to do this part too so I got nothing lol. I'm going to try a "strap" on each side that doesn't really wrap over and then a layer that wraps from front to back covering both sides as a sandwich so the layers meet at the trailing edge. Wondering if I should just do 2 of those. My glass will all be wrapped around like this too. An important idea is that you lay the carbon on a 45° angle to fight the torsion of the wing twisting. That's key.

I'd love to hear from the carbon heads but I don't know how much it'll help but it seems like it should as more of a tube feels like it'd be stiffer. I will say that this stuff is way stiffer than I ever expected it to be.

supuk

• Teahupoo Status
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: January 19, 2018, 12:11:58 PM »
Yes it would help a lot with fatigue if you have something wrapping the leading edge weather its all or just a number of the outer layer of your laminate. 

opie

• Rincon Status
    • View Profile
    • Email
« Reply #3 on: January 19, 2018, 08:16:30 PM »