Author Topic: Lahaina, Maui - SUP rentals?  (Read 11686 times)

AlohaBeachGirl

• Waikiki Status
    • View Profile
Lahaina, Maui - SUP rentals?
« on: February 24, 2009, 07:23:04 AM »
I'm new to SUP and am going to Maui in a couple weeks.  We're staying just north of Kaanapali.  Where can we rent stand up paddle boards?  and where are the best SUP beaches on Maui?  any recommendations or helpful hints?
Mahalo,
~ Gina
gina4sun@pacbell.net

noworrieshawaii

• Peahi Status
    • View Profile
Re: Lahaina, Maui - SUP rentals?
« Reply #1 on: February 24, 2009, 08:04:05 AM »
Hi Gina... there are a bunch of great shops in Kahahui, near the airport - Hawaiian Isle, Hi Tech and Second Wind that all have great rentals. I'm partial to Hi Tech just cause of friends that work there... ;D  There is another shop right in Lahaina, across from the Lahaina Cannery Mall. Maui Dive and Surf. Never been in there but drive by it everyday and see the boards and signs. It might be the most convenient. Unless you plan on SUPing the Northshore then the Kahaului shops would be right there. There is also Franks shop- Lightning Bolt but they moved to Paia so maybe too far. 

This time of year we get the big North swells... Very very big this morning... Report last night was triple overhead.. Little out of my leaque.  The south/west side, Lahaina- has had fun little thigh to waist high waves all week.  Lots of places to choose from...   

Anyway.. welcome to Maui.

PonoBill

• Cortez Bank Status
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: February 24, 2009, 05:54:53 PM »
It was pretty big this morning at Kanaha but died down fast. A few 1 1/2 overhead sets. Great fun once I had gotten my traditional "Get Worked" out of my system. The big sets were closing out fast, but the mid sized ones stayed up in the offshore wind and went on forever. Looong paddles back. I'm surprised Randy wasn't there since his favorite "L'eau de Omapio" was wafting in the wind.