Author Topic: F16 suggestions please.  (Read 2011 times)

nalu-sup

• Sunset Status
    • View Profile
    • Email
F16 suggestions please.
« on: May 30, 2017, 03:06:12 PM »
Brought my new SIC F16 home yesterday. Despite having surfed most summer days for 40+ years, and SUP surfed for the last few, I am a newbie at downwinding, having done just two Malikos and one Kihei run last fall with wonderful Jeremy Riggs coaching. He let me try an F16 on that last Kihei run, and all of a sudden the sport made sense and was fun. I did not expect any wind today, and of course a new board insists on getting wet, so I paddled it out into some small glassy surf, the one place this board is not meant to be, but I wanted to get a sense of working the rudder, and getting back to the tail for turning on a swell.
Here are a few of the things that I think I learned, but I would love for anyone experienced with downwinding these boards to chip in and correct me where I am wrong, or add some thoughts that I missed. Although the waves were small, it is a reef break with some punch, so some of the drops were not the shape of wave this board was designed for.
1. The rudder worked way better than I expected when just paddling around, turning to catch a wave, or when gliding along cruising the gentle inside rollers, but when there was a little juice to the wave creating some speed, I found at first that when I used the rudder to turn one way, the board tended to tip the other way especially when there was more speed. I got better at correcting for this as the morning went by, but any tricks?
2. I was usually able to jump back on the board and trim either way along pealing waves. However many attempts to make any turns beyond that ended up in a rail catch and fall.