Author Topic: What's the best weed fin?  (Read 19131 times)

Badger

• Cortez Bank Status
  • Seacoast NH
    • View Profile
What's the best weed fin?
« on: April 09, 2016, 08:25:33 AM »
I need some ideas on a weed fin for my new Sunova Search 14'.

I had the JL Tracker on my M-14 and that worked well. Are there any other designs out there that I should consider?
Kalama E3 6'1 x 23" 105L
Axis HPS 980 / PNG 1300
Sunova Flow  8'10 X 31"  119L
Me - 6'0" - 165lbs - 66yo

Bean

• Cortez Bank Status
    • View Profile
Re: What's the best weed fin?
« Reply #1 on: April 09, 2016, 08:34:06 AM »
Any fin with a good rake angle should do it, in addition to the usual suspects, take a look at peak at the BlackProject fins.  (I would like to try out a BP Maliko fin.)

SUP Sports ®

• Cortez Bank Status
  • Stoked For Life ®
    • View Profile
    • SUP Sports ®
    • Email
« Reply #2 on: April 09, 2016, 08:45:42 AM »
I've been designing weed fins for a couple of decades now...my FreeWeed designs will do the trick of shedding weeds while allowing for great tracking...speed...and, maneuverability...

https://youtu.be/sGFLWVGmAqU

Info:
http://supsports.com/sup-fins

Order link:
http://supsports.com/product-category/sup-fins/
« Last Edit: April 09, 2016, 08:54:27 AM by SUPsports »
Mahalos...{:~)

WARDOG ®
Owner/CEO  StandUp Paddle Sports®  &   SurfingSports®.com, Inc.

(805)962-SUPS (7877) store
(888)805-9978 toll free

Retail Store:
Standup Paddle Sports, LLC
121 Santa Barbara St.
Santa Barbara, CA 93101

Quickbeam

• Teahupoo Status
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: April 09, 2016, 05:12:10 PM »
I use the SIC weedless fin and quite like it.

http://www.sicmaui.com/weedless-8-3/
Infinity Blackfish 12’ 6” x 23”
ONE SUP Evo 12’ 6” x 24”
Infinity Whiplash 12' 6" x 24 1/2"
ONE SUP Evo 12’ 6” x 26”
Bark Competitor 12’ 6” x 29”
Red Paddle Explorer (Inflatable) 13' 2" x 30
Starboard Airline (Inflatable) 12’ 6” x 27

juandoe

• Peahi Status
    • View Profile