Author Topic: Input on design of 11'-6" SUP  (Read 17448 times)

andygere

• Peahi Status
    • View Profile
    • Waveyarder Hollow Wood SUP build
    • Email
Input on design of 11'-6" SUP
« on: September 06, 2007, 05:41:09 AM »
I am planning to build a hollow wood SUP, using the Grain Surfboards building method.  I live and surf in Santa Cruz, CA and would use the board primarily for surfing small point break waves, and for shorter fitness runs or break to break surf tours.  Most common wave size would be 1-4 feet, generally with good shape and quality. I'm an SUP novice, but longtime surfer, 5'7" 173, decent but not great fitness. I most frequently surf a 9'-0" performance oriented longboard, but also ride a 10'-0" nose rider and ocaisionally break out the 7'-8" hybrid for bigger days.

Another builder has generously shared his design, and I would love to hear comments from the experienced builders/riders on the suitability of this board for my purposes.  Specs of the board are here:
http://www.paulidesign.com/images/board/sapsup.pdf

andygere

• Peahi Status
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: Input on design of 11'-6" SUP
« Reply #1 on: September 06, 2007, 04:41:09 PM »
To get info on the Grain Surfboards construction method, go to: http://www.grainsurfboards.com/  Note that the design summary I posted was used to build an SUP using this method, however the builder is local to the Great Lakes, and his and my uses will be quite different.

stoneaxe

• Cortez Bank Status
    • View Profile
    • Cape Cod Bay Challenge
« Reply #2 on: September 06, 2007, 07:44:42 PM »
Grain makes some beautiful boards. I was planning on possibly getting one of their SUP kits before my brother blew me away by giving me his brand new Starboard. I would still love to build a hollow wood board someday though. I hope you post your progress. I'd be real interested to see it.