Author Topic: 8' SUP surfing problems  (Read 18607 times)

bajasurf

• Sunset Status
    • View Profile
8' SUP surfing problems
« on: August 14, 2013, 06:53:44 AM »
Man I need some advice.

Been surfing 32 years, above average surfer.5'11"',  51 years old, 220# good surfing shape, but a bit overweight.

My buddy suggested I try SUP last year, as my lower back and neck hurt when I surf. My pop up is no longer quick and fluid, and my neck hurts for hours after I surf.  So I thought I would give it a try, and my big ego said, hey no problema, I can do this.  So I made a SimSup copy. 8.2x32x4.5  Its got 5" nose rocker and 2.5 tail rocker.   Slight belly up front, double concave middle of board, out the tail, stepped rails, glassed in 9" keel fins ( Just like my Mini Simms), flat deck.. Cool looking stick.. I have been paddling it around the area for the last 6 months and no Problema in flay or chop, but every time I take it into the surf, I cant catch a wave.  They just go right past me, and I paddle like heck... No GLIDE at all in the board.. When I go surf stance, the back of the board sinks When I kneel on it, I can get into waves.. Oh yea, the water level is flat with the deck, not on my feet, but close.  When I go parallel stance, the board is very tippy front to back when the wave comes..

I catch waves and surf on my wife's 10' x31x 4 1/2.  Actually its too easy to catch waves, one paddle stroke and I am in.. I built the board extra light( no stringer, 1lb eps, Two 6oz deck and two 4oz bottom full rail wraps) for her as she likes flat water SUP in the Bay here in Cabo..I am fearful of taking it into the surf, as she will kill me if I break her board, but I go anyway, at least on small days... On bigger days, take my short-board out, but hoping it will be a shorter SUP one day soon.