Author Topic: Exocet Marlin 14' AST Review  (Read 29696 times)

Ichabod Spoonbill

• Cortez Bank Status
  • Hudson Valley, NY
    • View Profile
    • HVH2O
    • Email
Exocet Marlin 14' AST Review
« on: April 19, 2013, 05:51:44 PM »
I’m going to start a thread about my new Exocet Marlin 14’. I had gone through a year-long search for a new flatwater board to replace the NSP 11’ that I’ve been paddling. I outgrew that board on the flats over a year ago, but unfortunately a new board wasn’t going to come soon. I’m a public school teacher so it’s hard to slip a new board into the budget on a regular basis.

I needed a board for the Hudson River. The Hudson is an odd place to paddle. It’s brackish for much of it’s length and very rocky. Any river board was going to have to be tough. The board was also going to have to be good in chop. The tides plus current plus winds can create some weird local conditions. It can be perfectly flat, then 100 yards away you have foot-high chop. The winds can also be very variable. I’ve seen five mph go close to twenty in minutes. It also had to have tie-downs for distance paddling and just carrying gear.

I went around with a few ideas, originally thinking about a 12’6” board, mostly because of the price, until I saw the Exocet Marlin. At $1,299 the price was right and very competitive. It seemed to fit all of my criteria too. Plus, it was made by Exocet, which is a company I like. I come from a windsurfing background, and my remaining two boards are Exocets. I’m especially fond of my Exocet Kona One, which is a great, tough, versatile longboard, the perfect board for the variable Hudson.

The Marlin comes in a carbon as well as an AST version. I went with the AST version -- mostly for price -- but there was also the durability factor. I don’t mind a little extra weight if that means extra strength.