Author Topic: Maui advice needed  (Read 2710 times)

stvandev

• Malibu Status
    • View Profile
    • Email
Maui advice needed
« on: December 03, 2012, 08:34:03 PM »
Wife and I are headed to Maui in mid March, our first time to HI.  Hoping to do some SUP surfing while there.  I race a bunch but I'm a beginner surfer.  Trying to figure out where we should stay on the island. Ideal setup would be somewhere I could get out to surf in the morning and then spend the rest of the day hanging with my wife. Also looking for a SUP friendly break that would be good for my surf skills. Any advice is greatly appreciated.
Focus SUP Hawaii Ambassador

stvandev

• Malibu Status
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: Maui advice needed
« Reply #1 on: December 06, 2012, 10:41:53 PM »
Anyone? Just looking for some advice.  Thanks.

surfcowboy

• Cortez Bank Status
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: December 06, 2012, 10:59:09 PM »
I noticed your sig. Aren't the Focus guys over there? I'm sure they could give you some local knowledge. If none of the guys pipe up on here, just search "maui" on here and you'll see tons of info. Cardiff Sweeper just went I think and there's a lot of info in his thread.

#1 thought, get a guide. Maui's got some crazy waves and some pretty localized breaks. Get a beginner lesson and I'll bet you can surf the spot they take you to with no issues.

Contact the Schweitzers (their service is mentioned on here too) and they could give you all the info you needed and maybe even point you at a vacation rental.

NEplay

• Sunset Status
    • View Profile
    • Email
« Reply #3 on: December 07, 2012, 01:21:04 AM »
If you scroll back a few pages there was a recent thread on this although the poster staying on the south side. I was there two years ago and was a rank beginner at the time and took lesson with Maria Souza and she was awesome. As an aside the road biking is straight up awesome out of Paia.
New England Is My Playground

headmount

• Cortez Bank Status