Author Topic: lower back problems - is SUP good or bad for it?  (Read 26312 times)

mbarnhar

• Malibu Status
    • View Profile
    • Email
lower back problems - is SUP good or bad for it?
« on: August 03, 2008, 05:43:17 PM »
Any one here know what SUPing does for people with lower back problems? I don't seem to have any issues paddling in flat water but SUPing in waves seems to be aggravating my lower back, which has 2 degenerative discs already.  I know SUPing is good core exercise and maybe its because I'm still a beginner SUP'er (stance, off-balance bending over, twisting, etc) in the waves that I'm aggravating my lower back. Thoughts?

Thanks, Mac

srfnff

• Sunset Status
    • View Profile
    • Srfnff
Re: lower back problems - is SUP good or bad for it?
« Reply #1 on: August 03, 2008, 07:16:42 PM »
Mac,

I'm 61 years old and have been surfing since I was 16. The reason I tried stand up paddling and paddle surfing, was because people were saying that it was good for strengthening the core muscles. These are the primary muscles that help support the lower back (abdominals, quads and gluts). I too have a history of back pain including degenerative disc disease, arthritis, stenosis, etc.

Modern medicine offers two primary solutions for lower back pain. Drugs and/or surgery. I did not wish to opt for either choice, therefore the only thing left to gird and support the spine are the core muscles. I've found that SUPing does indeed strengthen the core muscles and therefore relieve lower back pain by supporting the spine and those areas where nerve impingement can be relieved through core muscle fitness.