Author Topic: WAVESKI VS. SURF KAYAK  (Read 23229 times)

JohnnyMaya

• Rincon Status
    • View Profile
Re: WAVESKI VS. SURF KAYAK
« Reply #15 on: November 14, 2012, 07:56:11 AM »
I've only tried to ride a wave ski once and I failed miserably. Just sitting on the thing with my feet on the straps looked near impossible.

Anyway, waveskis and surf kayaks are just other ways of wave riding.

I live in Portugal, and besides being a SUP/Surf instructor, I am also a international surf judge by the portuguese surfing federation, ISA and now and then ASP. Since both these sports are done on waves, I sometimes get invited to judge some events, being the most relevant one the Waveski and Surf Kayak world cup here in Portugal, two or three years ago.

So, from a judge perspective what can I tell you:

CLASSES
We're talking about three different classes:

Waveski
They are actually called boards and they're built just like a surfboard or SUP EPS and glass fiber (give or take)

HP (High Performance)
Size - about 8 ft
Fins - yes

IC (International Class)
Size - minimum of 9 ft
Fins - yes but they must be ridden finless for competition purposes

Lets start with the IC. This kayak is obviously a bit slower than the others. It's longer hull make it a bit harder to ride on steeper waves and all the moves seem to happen in slow motion. In my opinion it's the most beautiful class to watch as in any critical turn the tail wil pop above the wave (due to the lenght of the boat and the non existence of fins) making huge rooster tails.

The HP. It surfs a bit faster and is a lot more agile than the IC. These boats can perform some truly unbelieveble moves as the helix, rolls, inverted airs, air reverses and rodeos. On the other hand as a mere watcher it seams to me that when the waves aren't pumping, it is the class that bogs the most.

Both these classes have three huge downsides to it.