Author Topic: What do you eat the night before a race?  (Read 10349 times)

andygere

• Peahi Status
    • View Profile
    • Waveyarder Hollow Wood SUP build
    • Email
What do you eat the night before a race?
« on: June 17, 2012, 09:07:13 PM »
Getting ready for a 12 miler next week, and I haven't been too scientific about my pre race diet.  What about the morning of the race?  Any foods to absolutely avoid?  Tips and ideas from the experts out there are welcomed.

headmount

• Cortez Bank Status
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: What do you eat the night before a race?
« Reply #1 on: June 18, 2012, 12:55:04 AM »
I'm not an expert but I try to avoid spicy stuff, and anything that might give me indigestion and thus impair my sleep... because sleep is huge.   And don't eat late.  Sleep has priority over  food the night before.  Don't change your diet too much from what you normally do, except more water.

PonoBill

• Cortez Bank Status
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: June 18, 2012, 01:22:35 AM »
Smoothies are good, scrambled eggs, bland stuff. As Bill said--nothing spicy. I generally eat half a tube of Pocket Fuel about 30 minutes before the race with a good amount of tarted up water: In my camelback I add 5 packets of sugar, about 1/2 tsp. Morton's light salt (potassium), and lemon juice or orange juice. I try to remember to drink water before I'm thirsty.
Foote 10'4X34", SIC 17.5 V1 hollow and an EPS one in Hood River. Foote 9'0" x 31", L41 8'8", 18' Speedboard, etc. etc.

Chilly

• Peahi Status
    • View Profile
    • Email
« Reply #3 on: June 18, 2012, 06:06:07 AM »