Author Topic: Cutting through the paddle hype...  (Read 17033 times)

sup_surf_giant

• Teahupoo Status
    • View Profile
Cutting through the paddle hype...
« on: May 23, 2012, 12:34:10 PM »
The paddle I surf with every session was the free one you get when you buy a Riviera. It's a "Danny Ching" model.

It works, I've never thought much about it.

I want to buy a second paddle to have on hand. I've only been SUSing since August 2011, so I'm a relative novice when it comes to knowing all the brands etc.

Here's what I've picked up on so far (I could be wrong):

QB = market dominator, great marketing, high end $300+
Werner = popular across a few sports, high end $300+
Kailoa = smaller brand?, high end $300+
Ke Nalue = just discovered them in this forum

Do I need to spend $300+ for a decent paddle? I've got 100 plus sessions on my $100 paddle.

So, what's the hype in the paddle industry and what's actually legit?

I'm willing to pay for strong and light if it will last.

Any help?
Taller than most, shorter than others.

raf

• Teahupoo Status
    • View Profile
    • soposup.com
    • Email
Re: Cutting through the paddle hype...
« Reply #1 on: May 23, 2012, 12:47:35 PM »
Yes, you NEED to spend $300 plus for a good paddle. 

The 4 brands you mentioned are legit.  I would add the 2012 Riviera Vantage paddle to that list, since you are already familiar with the brand.  I have one in the shop, and its very, very nice.  Thinned out blade, 8.5" wide, total weight 16oz. 

Cardiff Sweeper

• Teahupoo Status
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: May 23, 2012, 12:57:16 PM »
The better you become, the better you'll want your equipment to be.

kneil

• Sunset Status
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: May 23, 2012, 01:00:11 PM »