Author Topic: Ankle / foot conditioning.. balance training  (Read 5254 times)

SUPinside

• Malibu Status
    • View Profile
    • Email
Ankle / foot conditioning.. balance training
« on: January 27, 2012, 11:11:20 AM »
Ankle Agility - Bounce & Balance

This was not originally meant for SUP training... it was meant more for field athletes with ankle issues..  But as a SUP novice, my feet and ankles were giving me fits...and I realized many of the same weaknesses that caused me to suffer ankle sprains and shin splints..would also contribute to me not being properly conditioned to SUP for long without foot and ankle pain....
This stuff (esp :45 to 3:20 ; 4:30 - 5:20...) isn't SUP specific, but it sure made my feet more conditioned and more coordinated.... and led to me being more comfortable with any and all balance challenges...

PilonSUP

• Peahi Status
  • Southern zone Costa Rica, Pavones
    • View Profile
    • Costa Rica Stand Up Paddle Boarding
    • Email
Re: Ankle / foot conditioning.. balance training
« Reply #1 on: January 28, 2012, 07:42:04 AM »
Yea!! some great stuff. Decades of moto cross & hanggliding left me with bad ankels.
I got in to sup to free them up alittle,working but still hard to walk in the morning just out of bed.
Whats that ball called again?gonna have to find one in CR.
Plenty of rice though can start with that ;D
Kinda the same... Before going out to sup with hot beach sand, rolling ankels as deep down as i can get them,feels so good.
Thx for your effort & motivation.
Shawn

SUPinside

• Malibu Status
    • View Profile
    • Email
« Reply #2 on: January 28, 2012, 02:54:16 PM »
Whats that ball called again?gonna have to find one in CR.

that was a bosu.. I think there are some other half-ball/balance trainers as well..
thx
(n like the deep sand ankle roll..)
« Last Edit: January 28, 2012, 03:05:41 PM by SUPinside »

UDflyer

• Sunset Status
    • View Profile
    • Email
« Reply #3 on: January 28, 2012, 07:43:04 PM »