Author Topic: Board advice for new guy  (Read 3425 times)

roymiz

• Waikiki Status
    • View Profile
    • Email
Board advice for new guy
« on: August 12, 2007, 01:23:56 PM »
Looking for my first SUP.
Really like the 10'6" C4 boardworks.
I'm 6'1 - 190lbs.
Looking to use it for both surfing and open water.
Dont plan on taking it out if the surf is bigger than thigh-waist high.
Not looking for a huge (12-13ft) board for super long cruising runs...just for open water cross training sessions.

Looked at the 11' Jimmy Lewis as well...but it didnt seem as performace oriented and I like the built in pad of the C4.

Any suggestions?

HaleiwaBill

• Sunset Status
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: Board advice for new guy
« Reply #1 on: August 12, 2007, 04:52:10 PM »
Aloha and welcome to da forum roymiz. As an SUP newbie I will leave the advice for the experts here, but I can tell you of my own progress.

For me the main thing was trying a few boards (from friends or you can rent them) to get an idea of width, thickness, length and overall feel. We may be decent surfers but this is new deal and not so easy at first. I fell alot and worked muscles not used in normal surfing. I hurt like hell at first.....LOL.........and still have ton to learn.

Then educated myself on each shaper to see what they offer and finally finding a great online forum where I can learn and communicate with experienced riders and shapers. Like this place! You could not have found a BETTER forum!

BTW-I was considering the 10'6" C4 as well. However, after alot of rerseach  I have now decided to go with a Blane Chambers board. We sound similar in what we are looking for and if you are not familar with Blane here is his web site.

http://www.paddlesurfhawaii.com

Anyway, nice to have you here. I wish you good luck and look forward hearing more of your progress.......................bill

Dwight (DW)

• Cortez Bank Status
    • View Profile
    • supSURFmachines