Author Topic: Aloha from another SUP newbie  (Read 9946 times)

HaleiwaBill

• Sunset Status
    • View Profile
    • Email
Aloha from another SUP newbie
« on: August 09, 2007, 12:55:51 PM »
Hey guys, the good folks (cammer) at the mauihotsails site  told me about this forum so I came to check it out. It looks GREAT!! Mahalo!! I having around online forums for many years I always consider it good manners to introduce oneself. So here goes.

My name is Bill Ward and I am new to SUP but have surfed for almost 40 years. I grew up in Huntington beach and moved my family to the North Shore (Haleiwa) 10 years ago. I am married with two kids (10 and 12) and was blessed to spend a good part of my youth in the surf industry as a pro surfer (very little money-I wasnt THAT good.....LOL..), surf shop manager (Carl Hayward, main st HB) and several great years with Victory wetsuits.

These days I am a small business owner and very happy family man. I still surf a few times a week and also cover the Triple Crown of surfing each year for some online magizines. Until two weeks ago had never experienced SUP. Of course I have read all about it and watched in amazment as a few guys surfed quite impressively at my local breaks (Haleiwa, Houltons, Jocko's).

I finally got a chance to try this sport when a longtime friend (Mike Marsoun) from HB, Maui and now the big island asked me to pick him up in Hawaii Kai. Turns out he and a partner were doing the Quicksilver Molokai to Oahu race on SUP's. I knew this sport was growing but did not even know they were racing these things now! I saw number of old friends from the early surf days who are now into SUP's and was totally stoked to see how this sport is progressing.