Author Topic: Sciatica, what helped me  (Read 44077 times)

Distressed Mullet

• Rincon Status
  • For the people who paddle
    • View Profile
    • Distressed Mullet
    • Email
Sciatica, what helped me
« on: December 20, 2010, 12:32:26 AM »
I've been telling a few people lately about what helped me with my sciatica. For what it's worth, maybe this could help someone here. Keep in mind, I'm don't work for anyone selling anything related to this and I'm not a doctor. This is just my experience.

I herniated two discs in my lower back 3 years ago and pinched my sciatic nerve. It was the most painful thing I've ever experienced. pain from my lower back to my heel, down my leg. I was on the floor for 3 weeks—through Christmas—I slept under the tree. I've broken tons of bones and taken a few good licks in the lineup and with 4 brothers I can take a punch. But nothing hurt like that. All I could do is lay on the ground, on my back with my legs bent, and raised up on the couch. Getting to the bathroom and back was hellish.

My wife's a pharmacist (and a holistic health counselor). We realized quickly that nerve pain is just a different animal. Rxs didn't really work for me. I opted to rehab rather than have surgery and a natural regimen rather than prescriptions.

Inflammation was the core problem. Then, muscle spasms put pressure on the already inflamed discs. For me, dealing with the inflammation AND the muscle spasms was critical.

We hit it with everything. My wife started me on an anti-inflammatory diet, icing, ibuprofen (not quite natural), yoga therapy, acupuncture and supplementation with Oddo's oils and Floradix calcium magnesium. We had a wonderful chiropractor/kinesiologist that was extremely supportive. I'd never had muscle testing or her type of chiro, so I was a little skeptical at first, but it worked for me. She's subsequently become my only doctor, but that's another story.