Author Topic: Rudder system or no rudder system on unlimited SUP  (Read 14679 times)

twinrigskier

Rudder system or no rudder system on unlimited SUP
« on: November 09, 2010, 01:10:17 PM »
Just wanted some other people incite on what they think about the two.

AirJunky

• Sunset Status
    • View Profile
    • My SUP gallery
Re: Rudder system or no rudder system on unlimited SUP
« Reply #1 on: November 09, 2010, 02:06:49 PM »
First off, I have no experience with a SUP with a rudder.

But a few times when I was out paddling in a cross wind, usually about the 10,000th stroke on the up wind side, I wondered if a rudder would allow me to make a rudder adjustment, and then paddle on both sides.

And does it effect speed at all? Seems like it would be about as much as a little extra weight on the SUP does, ie; around 10%?
--
Bill

DavidJohn

• Cortez Bank Status
    • View Profile
    • Email
« Reply #2 on: November 09, 2010, 02:58:44 PM »
Just wanted some other people incite on what they think about the two.

IMO.. If it's a flat water board for glassy conditions I'd say no rudder.

If it's for down-winders, distance paddling and windy conditions I'd say yes for the rudder.

DJ

refthimos

• Rincon Status
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: November 09, 2010, 03:08:01 PM »
As a relative newcomer to the question, I will have to apply experience in another discipline (sea kayaking) to offer some thoughts, but think they are nonetheless relevant, especially because race SUP hull design actually has some similarities to that of kayaks.