Author Topic: Wake Riding  (Read 2850 times)

garyb

• Waikiki Status
    • View Profile
Wake Riding
« on: September 18, 2010, 06:05:01 AM »
I've seen a few video's of people riding boat wakes and I'm ready for a go ;D. Most of the boats I've seen in video's seem to be travelling pretty fast.
My boat is a 27ft semi-displacement fishing cruiser, it cruises at about 13 knts, top speed around 17knts. Not fast  but it puts up a pretty big wake, especially  if I adjust the trim tabs to dig the stern in. Alternatively my friends 35ft fishing boat cruises at about 10knts but weighs 10 tons, so gives a really nice big wake.
Is there a lower speed limit to be able to wake surf? I would imagine not?

1tuberider

• Teahupoo Status
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: Wake Riding
« Reply #1 on: September 18, 2010, 07:28:17 AM »
Your boat should make a nice wake.  Your rider should tell you if it they want more or less speed thru the thumbs up, thumb down signal.  I am not a wake expert but I have spent time pulling people around on lakes and in all towing the towed should tell you how fast to go.  I would think your cruising speed is just about right and if not be prepared to burn some fuel.

alap

• Sunset Status
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: September 18, 2010, 10:16:09 AM »
8 to 10 knots, depending on the board, the wake, the style, the rope length. 15 knots will throw you out of control, its pretty easy to bounce on those speeds.

i had hitchhiked a lot of rides on local reservoir from rich people with power boats. now I know instantly who will beg to give me a ride and who won't even answer  :D

but be aware of CO2 poisoning, if you do it too close to the fumes for too long.

longer rope will give you more of waterski ride, short rope and low speed on god wake will allow you to drop the rope (or dont drop it, but there will be no tension).