Author Topic: Orange County SUP Spots for a newbie?  (Read 13645 times)

werkSUPrider

• Malibu Status
    • View Profile
Orange County SUP Spots for a newbie?
« on: August 27, 2010, 11:13:26 AM »
I've been paddling flat water 4 times a week for the last 6 weeks. I think I'm ready to start catching waves. I'm trying to decide where to paddle out for my first SUP surf session. I'm looking for a mellow crowd that's newbie SUP friendly.
I've been surfing (prone) for over 25 years and always bring the Aloha spirit. No need to get bent out of shape for one wave.
Anyway, I understand we can surf south of the hammer at Doheny or Dog Patch at SanO. I was leaning towards Dog Patch. But any recommendations would be great.
Thanks,
Jeff

Sup-position

• Cortez Bank Status
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: Orange County SUP Spots for a newbie?
« Reply #1 on: August 27, 2010, 11:31:04 AM »
Yeah
Dog Patch is mellow, perhaps even gutless.
I don't think it will hurt you.

Should be friendly with other Sup'ers.
Perhaps, some will even give you pointers.

On weekends get there super early.
Things fill up fast.

Sup-position
Starboard Dealer
Huntington Beach, California, USA
Ralph
Sup-position
(714) 899-3020 call, Text or Message

werkSUPrider

• Malibu Status
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: August 27, 2010, 11:51:41 AM »
Sounds good, yep we surf the trails early Saturday mornings and see the line going into SanO. I may have to invest in a "mule" to drag the SUP down the trails. Have you paddled at the trails? Any other spots would be great hear about.
Thanks for the input

Smokey Carter

• Malibu Status
    • View Profile
    • Email
« Reply #3 on: August 27, 2010, 12:47:44 PM »
trails rocks...shhhhhhh

ODJ

• Peahi Status
    • View Profile
    • Email
« Reply #4 on: August 27, 2010, 01:12:20 PM »
i thought you werent allowed to SUP at the trails and were only allowed to SUP at Dogpatch?

werkSUPrider

• Malibu Status
    • View Profile