Author Topic: Paddle Design and brands for the best price  (Read 4766 times)

werkSUPrider

• Malibu Status
    • View Profile
Paddle Design and brands for the best price
« on: July 28, 2010, 12:24:26 PM »
I'm pretty new to the SUP. I started 3 weeks ago on a borrowed Costco soft top (10'6") on a lake. I was hooked, a great workout and a lot of fun. I've been surfing for over 25 years. So, I sold a few old boards I had in the garage and looked for the best deal on a reasonable board. I found an 11'6" Jimmy Styks for around $800 with bag, deck pad and paddle. I've been paddling out 3 to 4 times a week and reading and watching every instructional video I can find. The paddle that came with the board was not the usual angled paddle, but a straight paddle with a curved blade. I'm sure I don't know the right terminology, but does anyone have any experience with this design, or should I upgrade to a better paddle? Thanks for your input and please pardon the newbie if this is a dumb question.

chipmonk

• Sunset Status
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: Paddle Design and brands for the best price
« Reply #1 on: July 28, 2010, 01:36:53 PM »
The paddle is super important. You'll have alot more fun with a good paddle...Since price is an issue, you might consider doing a fiberglass paddle, which you can geta name brand for...like $200- $250.  Quickblade has fiberglass blade Kanaha, and also Boardworks is coming out with a new fiberglass/carbon blade that loooked decent and is going to be like $219.

werkSUPrider

• Malibu Status
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: July 28, 2010, 02:50:14 PM »
Thanks for the input, I think as long as I'm going to put the money out, another $100 or so won't be too bad. I'm planning on surfing and flat water paddling, I'll try to demo the paddles. I weigh about 210lbs, so should I go for a 9" blade? Been reading the forums and it's really helpful. Thanks for any input.

DavidJohn

• Cortez Bank Status
    • View Profile
    • Email