Author Topic: Paddle-Power and Wind-Power in Same Outing?  (Read 4631 times)

ChuckanutPaddler

• Waikiki Status
    • View Profile
Paddle-Power and Wind-Power in Same Outing?
« on: January 03, 2010, 05:53:28 PM »
I'm just getting started with Stand Up, never surfed, and my only windsurfing was a dozen rental sessions on a gigantic beginner board that I learned to putter around on years ago.

But now that I've started SUP riding on flatwater, I can see the possibilities for adding wind-power to the mix sometimes. I've been having this fantasy about some magical set-up where I could head out under sail (or kite?) in light winds on the bay, drop the sail when I get to the mouth of the river, pull my break-down paddle out of my backpack, stow the sail somehow, paddle up the river and back, break out the sail and sail home.

Can you think of any sort of wind power hardware that could be used in this way?

Thanks,
Dale

PonoBill

• Cortez Bank Status
    • View Profile
Re: Paddle-Power and Wind-Power in Same Outing?
« Reply #1 on: January 03, 2010, 11:33:54 PM »
A common fantasy. The easiest way to do it is with a kite. Even just a trainer kite would be plenty, and you can store all the stuff in a backpack. But the truth is that most folks wind up paddling when they go to paddle, and sailing or kiting when they want to do that. .
Foote 10'4X34", SIC 17.5 V1 hollow and an EPS one in Hood River. Foote 9'0" x 31", L41 8'8", 18' Speedboard, etc. etc.

Chan

• Peahi Status
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: January 04, 2010, 01:31:51 PM »
Hi Dale,