Author Topic: First try wooden paddles  (Read 10774 times)

Honolii

• Rincon Status
    • View Profile
First try wooden paddles
« on: July 11, 2009, 11:04:14 PM »
I FINALLY got down to making some SUP paddles after thinking about it for the last 2 years.  This is my first time and I want to thank all of those who posted on their experiences on making them on here. I've taken every bit of advice and tips and used them with my ideas. These are my first two prototypes and will use it to refine my next ones I do.

My clamping jig. I can move the blade angle wedge to adjust for different legths, and also change it for different blade angles. The jig is upside down in this shot. Also clamping 2 shafts at a time.

I used poplar and douglas fir to make the laminated shaft. These are all trimmed and ready for handle and blade glue ups.

Blade glue up using basswood and some scrap koa I had lying around.

Koa handles all shaped and sanded.

Blade all shaped and sanded. One is 7 3/4" wide, the other is 8" wide.

The bend.

Glassing with 4 ounce glass and epoxy. One layer on both sides of the blade and on shaft up to the bend. I painted on the graphics as one is for my fiance' and the other for my nephew. The Hawaiian tattoo design is his family crest.

Finished blades. After 2 coats of epoxy, I sanded and top coated with automotive clear acrylic enamel. I haven't buffed it out yet.

Koa handle detail.

Side view double bend detail. The blade angle is a slight 8-10%.

All in all I enjoyed the process of making anything wiht my hands. I do some woodwork so I have experience working with wood. Main tools for shaping were sander, grinder with sanding disk, belt sander, small block plane, small drum sander on drill, router for handle.
The shaft has a nice flex to it that I like. I have not yet taken it out for a test. Will get back on feedback when done.
Weight was 2.2 pounds on a digital bathroom scale. I don't know how accurate that is.