Author Topic: fastest way to catch a wave  (Read 10191 times)

kwhilden

• Sunset Status
    • View Profile
    • Sustainable Surf
    • Email
fastest way to catch a wave
« on: May 18, 2009, 08:00:14 AM »
For those who have good paddling technique, let me ask this question...

Which gets your SUP up to the fastest speed to catch a marginal wave?
 - Standing paddling with a SUP paddle?
 - lying prone (or on knees and paddling with the arms?

I made it out yesterday for a session on marginal rolling waves that mostly never quite broke. It was deep water point break at higher than optimal tide. I found that I could catch waves much easier by paddling with my arms (lying prone or on knees) than with the paddle. I am a total beginner SUP surfer, and it felt like I just couldn't get my board up to speed using the paddle. I'm curious how much this will improve with better technique. I felt like a total dork lying on my SUP paddling with my arms to catch waves, and then popping up with my paddle in hand.

Thanks,
Kevin

Sustainable Surf

diesel

• Peahi Status
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: fastest way to catch a wave
« Reply #1 on: May 18, 2009, 09:44:15 AM »
I have been SUPing about one year. I have surfed my boards both ways and found that I can lay down paddle about as fast as standup paddle with the same board.  Most people on this forum probably think that paddling with the paddle is way faster but you would be suprised if you try it both ways.  Granted, I am 5'11 and my arms are long enough to get around the wide board.  I do this all the time when I am paddling in from outside reef breaks with my friends and my back feels tired.  Lying down paddling seems to wear you out faster like it is pushing your heart harder for the same speed so that standing up paddling seems easier and more cruising but speed seems to be about equal.  Standing up to catch the wave is way more fun and the way to go unless you are going into 25 mph headwinds.

Paddle-Plappe