Author Topic: Flatwater SUP advice please  (Read 5798 times)

andydpell

• Waikiki Status
    • View Profile
    • Email
Flatwater SUP advice please
« on: March 11, 2009, 08:23:19 PM »
I’m new to SUP world and need some advice. I have a surfing background but now live in Austin Tx where we have a great network of lakes and rivers.  I need some recommendations on a board. I’m looking for something between a race and a touring board. I’m 6’2” 215lbs.  Will a 14ft board suffice? The board I get will never see the ocean so it doesn’t need much of a rocker. I’m willing to spend some $$ on the right board but never the less I am on a budget (economy and all). Any suggestions? Good websites to buy from? Thanks! :)

PonoBill

• Cortez Bank Status
    • View Profile
Re: Flatwater SUP advice please
« Reply #1 on: March 11, 2009, 09:00:21 PM »
I'd look at a F14 from SIC, a Starboard Point, maybe the new Naish Glide 14 or 15--whatever it is, and the Foote Maliko 14.

Since you're talking mostly flatwater I'd get a race board--fun to paddle and fast. If you want to camp and fish from it you might consider something more in the cruiser range.

If you're looking for something cheap, try to find a leftover or used Starboard 12'2". Great in flatwater and fast for their size.
Foote 10'4X34", SIC 17.5 V1 hollow and an EPS one in Hood River. Foote 9'0" x 31", L41 8'8", 18' Speedboard, etc. etc.

Dwight (DW)

• Cortez Bank Status
    • View Profile
    • supSURFmachines
« Reply #2 on: March 12, 2009, 02:35:07 AM »
I'd add the 14' production Surftech Bark to your list. It should be due in shops soon.

www.surfingsports.com would know when, and would probably have some first.

SteveF

• Waikiki Status
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: March 12, 2009, 03:56:39 AM »