Author Topic: Nice Garage Sale Desktop Computer Find  (Read 5706 times)

Night Wing

• Cortez Bank Status
  • Piney Woods of Southeast Texas
    • View Profile
Nice Garage Sale Desktop Computer Find
« on: January 13, 2017, 07:26:24 AM »
I'm a computer hobbyist. I own 4 computers (2 desktops, 2 laptops). One of our neighbor's husband died of cancer and his widow was selling his stuff at a garage sale. I went down to the garage sale and picked up a nice saltwater fly fishing reel which was in excellent physical condition.

The widow knows I also like computers and most of my knowledge knowledge is self taught by experimenting with different operating systems. Since the widow has an iPhone and an iPad, she said she didn't need her late husband's desktop tower computer. She asked me if I wanted her late husband's desktop. I told her I would have to look at it. I found it was an HP Envy desktop computer which originally came with Windows 8 since it still had the Windows 8 sticker on it so I knew it was a 2012 model.

It was running the Windows 10 Enterprise operating system. After looking at System in the Control Panel, the info given was 64 bit Windows Enterprise with 24 GB of ram memory. The speed of the i7 processor was 3.40 Mbps. I asked the widow if I could look inside the computer case. She said, "sure", since by this time she knew I was highly interested in it.