Author Topic: Beginning SUP - Chronicles of Remickulous  (Read 20532 times)

Remickulous

• Malibu Status
    • View Profile
    • Email
Beginning SUP - Chronicles of Remickulous
« on: October 05, 2016, 03:58:37 PM »
~ 70hrs on the water, and after getting back from watching my first SUP event (Pacific Paddle Games), I thought this might be a good time to do some rambling about what I've learned so far. I'm known to be verbose with bursts of loquacious, so if you don't wanna read, I don't blame you. But maybe this might help some newer folks out there. Here goes:

Relevant info - I live in the Pacific NorthWest, 48yr old dude, 70" tall, 240lbs. I've broken 4 vertebrae in my back, dislocated my left shoulder 4 times, Level 2 separation of my right shoulder (clavicle sticks out noticeably), broken arch in my right foot that healed wrong so the bone sticks out a bit there, too, and many other injuries over the years. I'm a veteran of SOCOM with PTSD, ADHD, and TBI (Traumatic Brain Injury). I'm a hot mess, lemme tell ya, and there are guys & gals on this forum with far more serious limitations than I have that do a LOT more than I'm doing with SUP - that's the beauty of this sport!

I'm also an engineer and like having all the right answers before I do stuff, so I research a lot...and I mean, A LOT. Know what I found? There's WAY too much info, opinion, and variables out there for me to make sense of it all before getting started, so I did the best I could. I've wasted some money, but nothing terrible so far. Here's how it went down:

• My wife decided we should try SUP with inflatables for ease of transport & storage. I bought a 12'6" Isle iSUP on Amazon (-$800), the wife bought a 10'8" Costco iSUP. I didn't like the Isle because it was a noodle in the middle when I stood on it, and the wife's didn't, so I sent the Isle board back (+$800), and bought another Costco iSUP for myself (-$500).