Author Topic: How do you get out in reasonably sized waves? Help please :)  (Read 9952 times)

devon_sup_surf

• Rincon Status
    • View Profile
    • Email
Hi guys,

I have been SUPing for about 6 months now and supp surfing for 4 months. I just love it.

I'm fortunate to live in the south west of England where the surf is reasonable, but unfortunately the conditions make getting out back quite tricky.

1) frequent waves- typical time period is 8-10s in "good" surf
2) very frequent onshore winds
3) beach breaks so no deep channels or quiet zones where one can paddle out
4) undefined sets mean there are not many quiet periods to power out to

Add to that im only a (fairly good) beginner and I really struggle to get out in the surf. Typical conditions are waist-head high and the White water just batters me. After getting knocked off the board by some white water, by the time I have pulled the board back (10' leash and the boards usually upside down) the next wave gets me.

From what I have read on here the following techniques work

1) try to duck dive the board with a big push down near the nose of the board.

But I find the wave just hits my body and knocks me off anyway. Going side stance and it's tough!

2) stand on the back and try and ride the board over the wave

I just get knocked for 6 in reasonably big white water, as does the board

3) kick the board up over the whitewater as you fall backwards and hopefully go under the wave

I haven't tried this yet- it seems like it could work? Although the onshore wind may make it dangerous. Plus i still have to swim back to the board, by which time the next wave has hit me.

Anyway- now you have read all my noob excuses :D can someone recommend the most appropriate method I should work on above, or a new one perhaps?!

Any advice would be great thanks :)

PonoBill

• Cortez Bank Status
    • View Profile
Re: How do you get out in reasonably sized waves? Help please :)
« Reply #1 on: August 14, 2016, 09:08:04 AM »