Author Topic: Types of exercises that benefit SUP  (Read 16629 times)

Miss Adventure

• Waikiki Status
    • View Profile
Types of exercises that benefit SUP
« on: July 15, 2016, 07:30:13 AM »
Hi, I'm new to paddleboarding and am wondering what type of exercises I can do off the water that would help me become a better paddleboarder. When I'm paddling I find myself getting tired quickly (winded and my arms hurt). Thanks for any suggestions.

bbqSUPer

• Rincon Status
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: Types of exercises that benefit SUP
« Reply #1 on: July 15, 2016, 07:54:19 AM »
Paddle boarding is such a great workout.  The cardio will come if you keep with it.  At first I found that my arm were getting overly tired as well.  Like me, you may have been using to much arms in the stroke and not enough core.  When done with better technique there is a lot less requirement on the arms.  As with any sport of course a decent baseline of fitness will need to be built up.  There are several great videos explaining stroke. 

I would focus on some core strengthening.  Any solid workout structure will help.  For me it would be hard to say specific exercises because paddling uses so much of the body.  Back, shoulders, arms, legs.  Not very helpful I know.

I say this because paddling was a gateway for me.  I lost 75 lbs. paddling. That motivated me to where I am now, lifting 3 days a week and cardio the other.  I am turning 40 in a few months and I will be in the best shape of my life.  I owe a lot of it to discovering paddling.

JonoUNC89

• Waikiki Status
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: July 15, 2016, 08:08:53 AM »
Resistance bands.

These are relatively cheap, you can get them in difference levels of resistance and they are available at any sporting goods store or online (like Amazon).

I take one end of the resistance band and tie it (anchor it) to something that won't move easily (metal support post in garage, bumper of your car).