Author Topic: Difficulty Looking Behind  (Read 6281 times)

ManxSUP

• Waikiki Status
  • kook from the Isle of Man
    • View Profile
    • stuff I get up too...
    • Email
Difficulty Looking Behind
« on: March 31, 2016, 03:59:19 AM »
Hi all

Looking for some tips...I have always struggled in surf whilst waiting for a set. I found it tough looking over my shoulder, thought it was due to either my age, tension or lack of ability. But having thought about my previous career as a golf coach, i remember that I used to suggest to pupils who struggled with a full extension and follow through, for them to open their stance a little, as having your hips at 90 degrees to direction of movement impaired them turning fully.

This made me wonder if the same applied SUPsurf? Is my normal SUP stance the cause of the issue, should i adopt a surf stance whilst waiting for a set so I can look around easier?

What do you guys do? Is this the norm, or have i got the basics wrong by having my back to the sea whilst waiting, should i point off shore and practice my turns so i can identify the wave and then spin round to catch it?
Kook from the Isle of Man. Mediocre at SUP, poor to average surfer, not bad on a motorcycle though...

stoneaxe

• Cortez Bank Status
    • View Profile
    • Cape Cod Bay Challenge
Re: Difficulty Looking Behind
« Reply #1 on: March 31, 2016, 04:20:01 AM »
I have a tough time turning my head as well. A staggered stance definitely helps.
Bob

8-4 Vec, 9-0 SouthCounty, 9-8 Starboard, 10-4 Foote Triton, 10-6 C4, 12-6 Starboard, 14-0 Vec (babysitting the 18-0 Speedboard) Ke Nalu Molokai, Ke Nalu Maliko, Ke Nalu Wiki Ke Nalu Konihi

Badger

• Cortez Bank Status
  • Seacoast NH
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: March 31, 2016, 04:27:36 AM »
I always face out to sea whilst waiting for waves.

As the wave approaches, I turn the board sideways to it and start turning toward shore. I don't look back much, just to the side a bit as I watch the wave and make the turn.