Author Topic: Wetsuit or not for 60 degree ocean water?  (Read 11790 times)

ipup

• Waikiki Status
    • View Profile
Wetsuit or not for 60 degree ocean water?
« on: March 05, 2016, 04:14:04 PM »
I'm a beginner, and I'm thinking of getting an ISUP for exercise.  I get really hot when I exercise.   But I read that you might only last 1-2 hours in 60 degree ocean water before hypothermia will kill you.  Should I think about getting a wetsuit, or just (try to) stay close to shore?

Thanks.
« Last Edit: March 05, 2016, 04:17:35 PM by ipup »

Quickbeam

• Teahupoo Status
    • View Profile
Re: Wetsuit or not for 60 degree ocean water?
« Reply #1 on: March 05, 2016, 04:31:58 PM »
I would be wearing a wet suit and using a leash. And while I don't want to open up a huge debate, when the water is that cold, I also use a full PFD.

I should clarify that I don't regularly paddle the ocean, but do paddle at a lake I live on. The wetsuit I wear is a Farmer John, which is much more comfortable than a full wetsuit. Doesn't offer as much protection, but is fine for the kind of paddling I do.

Infinity Blackfish 12’ 6” x 23”
ONE SUP Evo 12’ 6” x 24”
Infinity Whiplash 12' 6" x 24 1/2"
ONE SUP Evo 12’ 6” x 26”
Bark Competitor 12’ 6” x 29”
Red Paddle Explorer (Inflatable) 13' 2" x 30
Starboard Airline (Inflatable) 12’ 6” x 27

PDLSFR

• Teahupoo Status
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: March 05, 2016, 04:36:11 PM »
Not sure you'd need more than a 2mm wetsuit for 60 degree paddling. If your surfing and in the water maybe a 3/2 but I think you'd be hot in that.

What's your location ?
Infinity RNB 8'2
Ron House 9'7
Ron House 10'7
Infinity New Deal 10'
Custom Infinity New Deal 10'
VEC 11'
Focus Bluefin 14'

supsurf-tw

• Teahupoo Status
    • View Profile
    • Email
« Reply #3 on: March 05, 2016, 04:52:21 PM »
60 and I trunk it as long as the suns out and wind is low.
Boards:

8-10 x 31 Egg
8-11 X 32 Double wing Fangtail Tom Whitaker
8-6 X 30 1\2  Inbetweener Tom Whitaker