Author Topic: Sunova Flow 8'4 Review  (Read 7749 times)

Badger

• Cortez Bank Status
  • Seacoast NH
    • View Profile
Sunova Flow 8'4 Review
« on: February 22, 2016, 08:40:57 AM »
Sunova Flow  8'4 x 29 3/8" @ 110L

Me  6'1 170lbs average weight including gear.

I just got this board a few days ago so I can't really give it much of an in depth review. I've also only been surfing for three and a half years so I'm no expert surfer.

First off the board is really beautiful. The workmanship is superb. The deck pad is soft to the touch and I imagine very comfortable with bare feet. Great traction as well.

I added RailSaver Pro mostly just to protect the paint. The rails are supposed to be extremely rugged but I think the paint over the carbon is very thin. I also installed an NSI handle on the tail. I put these on all my boards. They work best if you install them with the pads turned 90 degrees as you'll see in the pics, with the curve of the handle toward the nose.

I was hoping for a nice clean day for the first time on the board but what I got was onshore wind and chop. Normally I wouldn't go out on a day like this but I was dying to try the board. Waves were waist to chest and conditions were difficult. I fully expected to be falling left and right, it being a new board with less volume and a little narrower than my JL World Wide. I hopped on the board and to my amazement, I didn't fall. I paddled out to the line up through the waves and chop and didn't fall. I caught the first wave I tried for and rode it all the way to the end and still didn't fall. Right then I knew I had an awesome board. I didn't fall til the forth wave and it was choppy as hell. So I give the board high very marks for stability.