Author Topic: First experience with prejudice towards paddle surfers  (Read 10521 times)

Garmize

• Waikiki Status
    • View Profile
    • Email
First experience with prejudice towards paddle surfers
« on: August 28, 2015, 11:51:12 AM »
Today I got a chance to head out during lunch.  Winds tides and everything lined up for some great waves.  Grabed my son and get to the beach and it is crowded.  We surf in Bay Head/Point Pleasant NJ area.  There is a jetty and you can surf on both sides of the jetty.  One side is Bayhead and the other is point beach.  Since its crowded on the point side I go to Bay head.  Catch a nice 4' wave and get a decent ride.  A life guard whistles me in saying paddle surfing is illegal in Bayhead and go to the other side of the jetty.  I have been surfing in this exact spot for 4 to 5 years with no issues.  So I move, and a a-hole surfer tells me he is afraid for the other surfers and my board is to big and can't be controlled.  Mean while I been surfing there for 4.5 years and none of the people (surfers,life guards,groms ect) seem to have a problem with my control.  I have never hit anyone and stay clear of everyone.  I never snake a wave or even attempt it if there is a surfer within 20 feet of me.   The guy says the surf is no place for paddle boards and points to a grom paddling over to us and says I worry for his safety.  I look at him and say I think I am more worried about his safety than you jack a$$ because that's my son.  I sit there of a minute to decide if I want to run into him, snake every way he attempts, or be the better man and find a less crowded spot.  I decided to go to the less crowded spot because the whole reason I like the sport is to relax and just chill in the ocean.  If the guy continues to give me grief I am not one whom typically backs down from confrontation, so I might address the situation in a different manner next time.  In the end I moved and caught about 20 nice waves, I would not have caught that many i