Author Topic: Going shorter  (Read 8992 times)

sharkies

• Waikiki Status
    • View Profile
    • Email
Going shorter
« on: February 27, 2014, 11:36:26 PM »
I've been riding a 10'6 Laird Pearson Arrow for the past 8 months . Great board and feels just like a good high performance longboard but obviously much bigger. I'm looking to go shorter and have 2 boards in mind. I really like the look of the Jimmy Lewis Stun Gun in the 9'7 or the new Naish Hokua LE 9'1 X 32 wide.
Just wanted to get some feedback on either board . I'm around 90 kilos and I'm in the surf a lot.

TallDude

• Cortez Bank Status
  • Capistrano Beach
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: Going shorter
« Reply #1 on: February 28, 2014, 09:10:20 AM »
Depends on the type and size of break you surf. Going from a medium size cruiser to a small sports car could limit your wave count. With your weight, and a lower volume pulled in gun, it will take some getting used to. You have to line-up more inside, and take some late drops just to get in to it. There won't be any glide as you paddle like on your 10'6. Getting forward as you try to catch something, is not easy with a pulled in nose. Lots of disappointing missed waves. I've been there.
I would suggest something like the JL Kwad.  http://jimmylewisukandireland.com/kwad/  I think it would be a good versatile performance surf SUP. You would probably get a higher wave count and have more fun with it. The 9'1. It's at the limit of your weight w/ 130 liters, but you'd get use to it after a while. Good luck...   
It's not overhead to me!
8'8" L-41 ST and a whole pile of boards I rarely use.

SUPStandard

• Waikiki Status
    • View Profile
    • Email
« Reply #2 on: March 01, 2014, 09:56:08 PM »