Author Topic: Should I buy a Fanatic AllWave?  (Read 37437 times)

Zooport

• Cortez Bank Status
    • View Profile
    • Email
Should I buy a Fanatic AllWave?
« on: December 06, 2013, 05:51:56 PM »
I'm a middle-aged guy who has surfed all of his life, but I'm new to SUP.  I quickly became able to catch and ride waves on my Edge Elite 10'6" beginner surf SUP, but I'm already getting frustrated with it's inability to turn on a wave.  It turns, but it's like turning a freighter.  I don't need to slash and rip, but I do want my board to turn a little better.  

I'm on the verge of buying a 9'5" Fanatic AllWave.  I'm about 185LBS trying to get down to 175LBS.  Does anyone have thoughts on an AllWave for my ability level? I'm still a little bit of a tippy beginner in some respects, but I can catch and ride waves.  I live a couple blocks from the ocean and am on an SUP 3 or 4 times a week, so I hope to improve rapidly.  

Thoughts, advice, suggestions?

Thanks,
Mike
« Last Edit: December 06, 2013, 06:46:23 PM by WaterOnTheBrain »
8'6 Soul Compass
9'1 Sunova Creek
9'6 WaveStorm SUP
9'8 Starboard Element

TomKat

• Rincon Status
    • View Profile
Re: Should I buy a Fanatic AllWave?
« Reply #1 on: December 06, 2013, 07:34:59 PM »
I am 5'10" 170lbs and have been SUP surfing for a few years. I have the 8'10" AllWAve. Got it from Jim K. I got it for windy choppy conditions. It is a great all around board. A buddy of mine has the 9'8" or 9'10" Walden Magic model and tried my 8'10" AW and now wants to buy it. I'd see if you can demo one. The 8'10" might be a jump for you but I think you will grow into it.
Thanks
TomKat

supthecreek

« Reply #2 on: December 06, 2013, 08:36:56 PM »
Just have to add... any advice that TomKat gives is worthy advice!

Allwaves I have had , in order
9'6
9'10 - as small/choppy day board and my year round go to for flat-water
8'10
All purchased from JimK at Extremewindsurfing (Zone Sponser)

My stats
65 yrs old - 49 years surfing experience
220 lbs