Author Topic: Feeling an urge to surf  (Read 15271 times)

AJR

• Teahupoo Status
    • View Profile
Feeling an urge to surf
« on: August 06, 2013, 05:40:31 PM »
Prone surfing that is, and I have no background in it.  I have SUP surfed for five years now so etiquette and wave knowledge have increased as well as surfing once I'm on the wave.  But the pop-up is killing me.  I'm stubborn and intent on learning this on a 7' big boy Joe Blair round tail fish (23" wide and 3" thick).  I'm 6-1 & 215 btw.  Not the best choice I'm sure but something in me doesn't crave longboarding and I've got this board.  Any advice on how to pop up when your feet hang off the back of the board and you can't use your toes?  This is day 2 and I managed to get up a couple times but it was ugly and I had to use a knee (a bad habit I hear and difficult on this board)...

TDoc

• Malibu Status
    • View Profile
    • surfinoregon.com
    • Email
Re: Feeling an urge to surf
« Reply #1 on: August 06, 2013, 06:43:44 PM »
Depends a lot on the types of waves your trying to learn on. Personally, although a 7' board isn't "short"...it is a bit short to learn on and you'll need waves with some push to make it go. If the waves are small or mushy there might not be enough speed the properly pop to your feet without the board wobbling around. That's where learning on an LB is more forgiving. If you're set on the 7' I think you'll want chest to head high waves that will allow you to actually "drop in" to the wave rather than "popping up". What I mean is that as you paddle & catch the wave the board will actually fall away from you (you might help it directionally a bit) and as it does you bring your feet under you. You will likely fail many times but you'll maybe get it quicker than trying to get mushy waves and getting left behind in the whitewash. Good luck...maybe borrow a longboard (to get the feel).

Doc

Subber

• Peahi Status
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: August 06, 2013, 07:01:23 PM »